legendary_press_logo

SHE'S HAVING HER BABY

by Lauren Sams Read profile

people_img

Published 12th July 2018

Georgie Henderson doesn’t want to have kids, but her best friend, Nina, has wanted to have a baby for as long as she can remember. Sadly, Nina’s uterus refuses to cooperate. One drunken evening, Nina asks Georgie for the ultimate favour: would she carry a baby for her? Georgie says yes and spends the next nine months wondering why.

With intense bacon-and-egg roll cravings and distant memories of what her feet look like, Georgie tries to keep it all together in her dream job as the editor of Jolie magazine. Her love life’s a mess – and sauvignon blanc’s off the menu – leaving Georgie to deal with twists in her life she never expected.

Sams has created the Australian Bridget Jones in this hilarious story, an emotive trajectory that pushes the boundaries of rom-com fiction.

‘A book so damn good that once it’s over, you miss taking it to bed at night…’ Cosmopolitan

‘Honest and sassy, She's Having Her Baby deals with the joys, heartbreaks and messiness of fertility, babies and friendship. You'll want to remember the one-liners and wish the main characters were your friends’ Kasey Edwards

‘Such an enjoyable read it ought to come with a free pool lounger and frozen margarita. Fans of Jojo Moyes, Lauren Weisberger and Zoë Foster Blake will adore Sams’ novel. Like chick-lit, only smarter, cooler and LOLzier’ Meg Mason

‘She's Having Her Baby is a fun, fast-paced, wonderfully clever and observant novel that should be required reading for the non-pregnant and the pregnant alike’ Sloane Crosley

‘Fresh, funny and heart-warming, Sams’ novel is a testament to true love and friendship. I couldn’t put it down!’ Dilvan Yasa

‘She's Having Her Baby is the perfect novel for women in our generation. It portrays besties, pregnancy and motherhood better than any book I've ever read’ Summer Land