legendary_press_logo

SHE CHOSE ME

by Tracey Emerson Read profile

people_img

Published on 15th October

'Not having a child can change your life as much as having one.'

Grace has returned to London after twenty years abroad to manage her dying mother’s affairs. When she receives a blank Mother’s Day card in the post, she is confused and unsettled. Who could have sent it to her and why? She isn’t a mother.

Another Mother’s Day card arrives. Then come the silent phone calls. Haunted by disturbing flashbacks, Grace starts to unravel. Someone is out to get her. Someone who knows what she has done. Someone who will make her face the past she has run from for so long.

Emmerson creates an intricate web in this intense psychological thriller whose high energy and fast-pace will have you racing towards the climactic conclusion. Perfect for fans of The Girl Before.   

'I read this in two days. Fast-paced, dark and unsettling, this is an intelligently written, edge-of-your-seat thriller. A compelling page-turner with a satisfying ending and a late twist that I didn't see coming' --Susan Elliot Wright, author of The Flight of Cornelia Blackwood

'She Chose Me is a cleverly constructed, elegant page turner that will hook you from the very first line. An enormously enjoyable read' -- Louise Dean, award-winning author of Becoming Strangers

'If you enjoy tension, suspense and surprise, She Chose Me, Tracey Emerson’s brilliant debut novel is your next favourite read. Emerson ratchets up the suspense from the first page and never lets it go. Dignified by deft and ingenious plotting, forensically insightful characterisation and impeccable prose, this psychological thriller delivers on all levels.' -- Lesley Glaister. Award winning author of The Squeeze.

‘She Chose Me is an accomplished debut that despite being tightly plotted manages to retain a really refreshing rawness. The first person narratives bring the reader ever closer to the main characters, allowing you to see their intimate thoughts and secrets, as though you are also one of the plot's stalkers. The fast-paced story kept me guessing until the end and raised many thought provoking questions about family, motherhood, rejection and mental health. I do love a story that intrigues as much as it provokes, and to this end Tracey Emerson has scored on both counts. Very well done.’ -- Cath Weeks

'A great read. I loved the two female protagonists, particularly the brilliantly chilling anti-heroine' -- Sarah J. Naughton

‘Moving, compelling and beautifully written. It deserves to fly off the shelves’ -- Mel McGrath, author of Give Me the Child