legendary_press_logo

THE GEOGRAPHY OF FRIENDSHIP

by Sally Piper Read profile

people_img

Published 1st February 2019

When three women set off on a hike through the wilderness they are anticipating the adventure of a lifetime. Over the next five days, as they face up to the challenging terrain, it soon becomes clear they are not alone.

Lisa, Samantha and Nicole have known each other since school. Lisa is a fighter, Samantha a peacekeeper and Nicole a rule follower. United they bring out the best in one another.

Only once it is too late for them to turn back do they appreciate the danger they are in. Their friendship is tested, and each of them must make a choice that will change their lives forever.

‘The atmosphere in the Geography of Friendship is so charged, I often found myself clenching my jaw and getting goosebumps as I read. The descriptions of the Australian bush are so vibrant and evocative… The bush feels alive in this book – vast, daunting and full of lurking dangers… Heartbreakingly honest and fiercely emotional… a remarkable book that is bound to appeal to fans of Jane Harper and Liane Moriarty’ Honey

‘Piper gloriously demonstrates how to hook your readers and make them desperate to know the ending… Piper’s novel is an exploration of how the past can come to define ourselves, and a testament to the bonds of complicated friendship and to the relentless, isolating and utterly terrifying nature of the Australian bush’ Books + Publishing Review

‘There’s a little bit of Big Little Lies about this deft and powerful study of female friendships under pressure… this lyrical Queensland-based author has a style and tone all of her own which sucks you in and holds you in its seductive embrace, almost unable to breathe… a page-turner… a book dripping in the raw beauty of the Australian landscape’ Women’s Weekly Australia

‘Piper has achieved that glorious, decisive moment in any great novel where the reader becomes desperate to know the ending. If you loved Jane Harper’s Force of Nature, prepare yourself for another page-turning adventure’ Readings Monthly

‘An ambitious novel’ Weekend Australian