legendary_press_logo

THE WOMAN BEFORE ME - REPRINT

by Ruth Dugdall Read profile

people_img

They came for me, just like I knew they would. Luke had been dead for just three days. Rose Wilks life is shattered when her newborn baby Joel is admitted to intensive care. Emma Hatcher has all that Rose lacks. Beauty. A loving husband. A healthy son. Until tragedy strikes and Rose is the only suspect.

look_inside

Now, having spent nearly five years behind bars, Rose is just weeks away from freedom. Her probation officer Cate must decide whether Rose is remorseful for Luke's death, or whether she remains a threat to society. As Cate is drawn in, she begins to doubt her own judgement. 

Where is the line between love and obsession, can justice be served and, if so... by what means?

Ruth Dugdall talking about The Woman Before Me

Winner of the Crime Writers Association Debut Dagger Award
Winner of the 2009 Luke Bitmead Bursary
Shortlisted for the People’s Book Prize 2011
Longlisted for the New Angle Book Prize
Shortlisted for the Brit Writer’s Novel Award
Editor’s Choice at Play.com
Women’s Institute Summer Read 2011

‘Gripping, original, authentic and, in the final few pages, utterly heartbreaking’ Erin Kelly

'Ruth Dugdall's novels are intelligent and gripping, with a sophisticated psychological sensibility. She is a huge talent.' Sophie Hannah

'An absolute tour de force that left me thinking for days' Alex Marwood

‘a chilling psychological thriller with a shocking twist. I read it one day and couldn't put it down'. Louise Millar

‘sad, moving and beautiful’ Penny Hancock

 ‘An enthralling psychological thriller - perfect for fans of Sophie Hannah’ Sam Mills

‘Dark, disturbing and authentic’ CWA judging panel

Impressive in its unflinching realism… a dark and haunting psychological thriller that possesses both depth and sensitivity.’  Crime Time

‘Authentic… diverting debut’ – The Daily Mail

‘a young British crime-writer who uses her career in the Probation Service to stunning effect… gripping & powerful.’ Mike Ripley, Shotsmag